Between the (y)Ears 2019

In the intervening years between editions of London Ear Festival, there are smaller events that go under the name of Between the (y)Ears – music to listen to and to think about!

In 2019 Between the (y)Ears will consist of a series of three concert of contemporary music.

The first, given by the young Ret Frem Ensemble, reflects London Ear’s policy of supporting and encouraging younger, emerging professionals. The concert features the UK premiere of a duet for flute and cello by Murail, and includes Grisey’s remarkable Anoubis-Nout, an unusual solo for Contrabass Clarinet. Alongside these works, the programme includes pieces by international composers inspired by French spectralism, including Kaija Saariaho and Isabel Mundry. There are also new works by young composers Frej Wedlund and Will Handysides.

The second concert sees a return to The Cello Factory of a group that was one of the highlights of London Ear 2018:  The Neo Quartet of Gdansk, Poland.  They are joined by the sensational composer/performer Alwynne Pritchard who has also appeared in past editions of London Ear Festival. Together they will give a performance of Alwynne Pritchard’s remarkable experimental work Nostalgia, following it’s acclaimed performance at the NeoArte Festival in Gdansk.

The third concert is given by two celebrated London-based performers: Anna Noakes (flute), one of the first ever performers at London Ear in 2013, and Gabriella dall’Olio (harp), who has performed at the festival several times. The programme offers music of a variety of contemporary styles, including the world premiere of a new work by London Ear’s Artistic Director – Gwyn Pritchard.

All three concerts will take place in
The Cello Factory
33-34 Cornwall Road, Waterloo, London SE1 8TJ

Concerts start at 7.30 pm

November 22nd – Ret Frem Ensemble

Louis Andriessen : Workers’ Union
Tristan Murail: Une lettre du Vincent (UK premiere)
Kaija Saariaho: Noanoa
Gerard Grisey: Anubis-Nout
Isabel Mundry/Brice Pauset: Die Vorüberlaufenden
Will Handysides: New commission (world premiere)
Frej Wedlund: New commission (world premiere)

December 5th – Neo String Quartet & Alwynne Pritchard

Alwynne Pritchard: Nostalgia for string quartet and voice/performance (UK premiere)
Alwynne Pritchard: Nocturnal for string quartet
Group improvisations

December 16th – Anna Noakes (flute) & Gabriella dall’Olio (harp)

Salvatore Sciarrino: Fauno che fischia a un merlo
Gwyn Pritchard: Pacing (World premiere)
Lowell Liebermann: Sonata
Christopher Caine: Powder Monkey
Jean Cras: Suite en Duo

Nov. 22nd £7.50
Tickets available from:

Dec. 5th and 16th £10 (Concessions £7)
Tickets available at the door.
To reserve a ticket email

During the first two concerts of this series there will be an exhibition in The Cello Factory of works by
The London Group of artists.