London Ear Composers’ Competition, 2016

Submissions were invited in two categories:
Pieces for ensemble
Pieces for a solo instrument: flute or cello or piano

The Prize-Winners are:

1st Prize for the overall best piece (from either category)
Ulrike Mayer-Spohn: fLEC-UE  (for Uroboros Ensemble)
Prize: £1000; Publication by Verlag Neue Musik, Berlin; Recording for download release
on the Sargasso label

Two 2nd Prizes (one in each category)
Yuko Ohara: The Wave Transformation (for Ensemble Platypus)
Joel Järventausta: Racing Thoughts (for Rohan de Saram, ‘cello)
Prize: £500 each

Two 3rd Prizes (for the remaining two works)
Stephen Yip: Hui (for Carin Levine, flute)
Pierre Bastaroli: Nepa Rubra (for Mary Dullea, piano)
Prize: £250 each

The competition was structured as follows:

Stage 1:
The judges selected five pieces: one piece for each of the participating ensembles or soloists, to be included in their concerts at London Ear 2016.

Stage 2:
After the final concert on March 13th the jury decided upon and announced the order of the winning works. 

The members of the Jury were:

Stage 1
Sam Hayden (Composer; Professor of composition Trinity Laban Conservatoire)
Andrea Cavallari (Composer; Director of London Ear and Accademia San Felice)
Andrew Kurowski (Formerly New Music Editor, BBC Radio 3)
The soloist, or ensemble representative, for whom a work has been submitted

Stage 2
Sam Hayden
Andrea Cavallari
Christoph Taggatz (Editor-in-Chief, Verlag Neue Musik, Berlin)
Gwyn Pritchard (Composer; Director of London Ear; Professor of composition Trinity Laban Conservatoire)

The main conditions for submission were as follows:

  • All submissions had to be received by 10th January, 2016.
  • There is no age limit; however, submitting composers should not have had more than eight fully professional performances of their music within the last year.
  • Submitted pieces should not exceed 10 minutes duration.
  • The submitted work must not have had a professional performance.
  • No published works may be submitted (except for pieces published by small independent publishers which represent no more than ten composers, or non-commercial, archival publishers such as composers’ guilds and national music information centres).
  • There is no limit on the number of works a composer may submit.
  • The composer’s real name must not appear on the score, and will not be seen by the jury until after the selection of the finalists has been made. It should be replaced by a pseudonym which must also be given on the accompanying submission form.
  • The jury’s decision is final and no correspondence will be entered into regarding that decision. If the judges consider that there are no suitable pieces for any particular performer/group then there will not be a work by a competitor in that concert. The jury reserve the right not award any of the prizes if they consider that no submitted works meet the required standard.